2013 Championship

Monday, July 29, 2013

USCF Master Davis Whaley Wins "The Mike Anders Memorial Open!"

            Mike Anders (left) plays Louis DeFiore at the "School's Out Classic" in May 2012!

One Master and four Experts play in the 1st Annual Mike Anders Memorial Open in Elizabethtown!
Twenty-two players played in the tournament to honor Mike Anders!

Master Davis Whaley of Lexington, KY won the tournament with a score of 4-0! Michael Thomas and Stephen Dillard both scored 3-1 to share 2nd place. The Class B prize went to Jennifer Ishee, Louis DeFiore and Samuel Hunt who all scored 2.5-1-5! Dan Franklin and Michael Williams shared the Class C prize. The Class D and Under prize was spilt by Stuart Kernohan and Jacob Williams.

Jerry Weldin donated a leather chess wallet for the biggest upst prize which was won by Samuel Hunt for his victory over Expert Chris Bush! Way to go Sam!

The crosstable can be viewed here: